News for Senior Members

Hazel takes 2 gold and 1 silver at Special Olympics

posted by Chris Travis on Thu 07 Jul 2011 15:19

Congratulations to Hazel Johnson from Bolton Lads and Girls Badminton Club who won 2 Gold and 1 Silver medal at the recent Special Olympics 2011 Summer World Games in Greece. Hazel was one of 3 English badminton players who travelled out to Greece last month to join over 7,500 other athletes from 186 nations competing across 26 sports. Hazel took gold in the Division F2 Ladies Singles and also in the Division F3 Ladies Doubles. She also claimed a silver in the Division XDS Mixed Doubles.

You can read the full article about Hazel's success on Badminton England's website.

UPDATE: Hazel appeared on BBC Radio Manchester on 20th August talking about Badminton and the medals she won. You can listen to it at http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/console/p00jkjhh. The interview can be found from 01:30:00 until 01:35:00.

« Previous Back to the Archive Next »
Badminton England Premier Club Premier Badminton Club and Sport England Clubmark Accredited

This Week

  • Mon 29 October
    Metropolitan Bolton B vs Forrest Bolton F
  • 20:00 @ Bolton Arena
View Full Calendar

Results

  • Wed 10 October
  • Forrest Bolton C 1
    Forrest Bolton A 17
    Section A
  • Fri 5 October
  • Westhoughton E 8
    Forrest Bolton F 10
    Section C
  • Thu 4 October
  • Forrest Bolton E 12
    Markland Hill E 6
    Section C
  • Thu 4 October
  • Sharples A 12
    Forrest Bolton D 6
    Section B
  • Wed 3 October
  • Forrest Bolton A 17
    Hawkshaw B 1
    Section A
  • Tue 2 October
  • Hawkshaw A 17
    Forrest Bolton B 1
    Section A
  • Wed 26 September
  • Forrest Bolton B 1
    Markland Hill Bolton A 17
    Section A
  • Tue 25 September
  • Hawkshaw B 16
    Forrest Bolton C 2
    Section A
  • Mon 24 September
  • Moorside D 0
    Forrest Bolton E 18
    Section C
  • Fri 21 September
  • Deane A 5
    Forrest Bolton D 13
    Section B
View Full Results